Art Block: Muddling through a Scene

This week had been a hard one, in regards to my writing. I am currently building up my novel to reach what I feel is a really good climax. As I write this week, I have begun to question if may have made my story peak far sooner than I realized. When I take a moment to think about it, I realize that my art block is a little different.

When I first started writing this novel, there were plenty of times that I was completely stifled. I wasn’t able to write anything the pertained to my novel at all. But with this time, I’m able to write, but it feels as though what I’m writing doesn’t mean anything. It feels like there are words being said, but there is no meaning to them.

That being said, it’s not all bad. I’m the type of writer; and person as a whole, that runs to research whenever I feel lost. In my research about writer’s block, I have found many methods and quotes that have really helped me out. There was one quote that really spoke to me about how to resolve this problem.

“Not a wasted word. This has been a main point to my literary thinking all my life.”

-Hunter S. Thompson

It’s such a simple quote, but it really impacted my writing. I took this quote to mean that I should not write things that have little to no meaning. I happened to come across this quote last night. I’d be dishonest if I said that it instantly fixed this particular bout of writer’s block. But it did give me the mindset I needed to be less frustrated; to be more attentive while I try to muscle through this particular section in my novel.

Leave a Reply

