It’s ok to Learn

Image result for expert

Many of us dabble in a multitude of hobbies. I know that this is very much the case for me. I enjoy to think about pursuing my hobbies as a writer, artist and even hobbies that I haven’t looked into as seriously. As I’m sure you can tell, especially if you have read some of my past posts, I tend to be the type of person who gets in their own head. As I look at myself dabble in these hobbies, I come to a particularly upsetting conclusion. I’m no expert. There are several studies that focus on skills and how people master said skills. There was a study that said it takes approximately ten years to truly master something.

As someone who can get a but pessimistic in regards to my own skill set, that has the potential to be rather negative for me. Something for many people to remember, is that there is nothing wrong with not knowing. We aren’t all born with an abundance of knowledge. In an older post, I brought up the fact that it’s ok to enjoy the journey. It’s the same with learning. We need to get out of this mindset that of perfection. As many people have said, perfection is boring.

The fun of the journey comes with learning lessons on the way. Building your craft is something that is extremely intimate. Learning gives you a chance to really understand yourself as well. I am no where a near a master of writing just yet. However, through this I’ve learned a lot about myself. Learning does a lot to help us build. Breaking down this aversion to being less than perfect is one of the best things I’ve done for myself.

Leave a Reply

