The Lottery

Image result for the lottery

I wrote a script for my class a while ago and I thought that it would fit perfectly with this daily prompt.

FADE IN:

INT. OFFICE- AFTERNOON                          (PRESENT)

Office is bright with lots of cubicles. SFX, Papers rustling and staplers being pressed. BOSS, 57, is walking through the rows of cubicles. There is a TV in the office and the news is on.

FREDERICK, 34, sits at his cubicle that is under the TV. He looks at the picture of his wife and daughter and frown. He hears the news report talk about the latest lottery.

FEMALES NEWSREPORTER

That’s right, today’s lottery is going to be big win. It’s supposed to be one of the biggest wins in a decade with a whopping estimate of $400 million dollars. With that, let’s get today’s number.

Frederick pulls a crumpled lottery ticket out of his pocket and grabs a quarter out of a change bin near his computer.

(O.S) MALE CO- WORKER #1

Damn, do you know what I could buy with that type of money? New house, cars… maybe my girlfriend will finally accept my proposal.

(O.S) MALE CO- WORKER #2

Shit, with that type of money, you could get a new girl.

Frederick slouches over his desk and listens closely to the reporter. He uses the quarter to scratch the gray circles until numbers show.

FEMALE NEWSREPORTER

Today’s numbers are 21, 11, 14, 5, 46 and the lucky number is 18.

Frederick looked at his ticket and lurched forward. He looked at his ticket and the TV and back again.

FREDERICK

I won… I won. I won!

Frederick jumped out of his chair, it falls back.

BOSS

What are you doing Mr. Reid? You’re disturbing you colleagues.

FREDERICK

You’re right sir. I am, and I don’t care. I’m leaving; you know where to send my last check.

Frederick brushes past his boss, but goes back to get the frame that his wife and daughter and walks away

CUT TO:

EXT. GAS STATION PARKING LOT- LATE AFTERNOON

Frederick kisses the lottery ticket. SFX His phone starts buzzing. He silences it and gets out of the car. The picture falls off of the arm rest and falls to the back seat. The glass cracks.

INT. GAS STATION

There are very few people, and it looks dingy inside. Frederick walks up to the cashier.

FREDERICK

Hey, I bought this ticket this morning and I’d like to cash it in.

The cashier chews gum loudly and is not looking at Frederick.

CASHIER

Any winnings over $1, 000 can’t be cashed here. You have to go to the NCEL Corporate Office. Have a nice day, sir.

Frederick clicks his tongue but walks away.

INT. FREDERICK’S CAR

Frederick pulls out his phone and sees that he’s missed several calls and texts from his wife. He presses to call her back.

CAROLE

Honey, I’ve been trying to call you-

FREDERICK

Hey, get this babe; this cashier has given me such an attitude! Boy, does she have a storm coming. Oh! I’ve got some news for you and Amy. Don’t bother with dinner tonight!

CAROLE

And if I tell Amy that will you keep your promise. Or will I have to make up some excuse for you again?

FREDERICK

Calm down, Hun. Look, it’ll take me a few hours before I get home, so wait up alright?

The phone click and the other line hung up.

CUT TO:

INT. NCEL CORPORATE OFFICE- EARLY EVENING

The office has dim florescent lights and tile floors that don’t reflect the lights very well. Frederick is next in line.

FREDERICK

Yes, I’d like to cash in this ticket.

EMPLOYEE

Well, it would take two to three hours to validate the ticket, but we can’t even give you the full amount. You have to go to the NCEL head quarters. If you call them now, it could possibly help reduce your waiting time.

FREDERICK

That’s pretty inconvenient don’t you think.

His phone buzzes. The screen shows that Carole is calling. He hangs up. After a few minutes later she calls again.

CAROLE

Frederick, come home now. We need to talk.

FREDERICK

Hey, sweetie, I’m sure it’s important but you’ve got to stop calling me. I’m busy right now. I’ll be a few hours, so just wait up, okay?

Carole hangs up the phone again. Frederick puts the phone in his pocket and gets the address to the NCEL headquarters.

INT. FREDERICKS CAR

He looks for the picture frame. There are small pieces of glass around it. When he reaches to grab it, he cuts himself.

CUT TO:

INT. NCEL HEADQUARTERS- EARLY EVENING

It’s only him and the employee there. Employee gets stacks of money and pushes it near Frederick.

EMPLOYEE

Congratulations on your win, sir. We will respect your wish to privacy. Have a nice day.

Frederick’s phone buzzes again. He sends it to voice mail. Carole immediately calls again.

FREDERICK

Look, honey I’m coming home. Ok? I’m coming home.

The line stays quiet before she answers.

CAROLE

Fine. We’ll be waiting.

CUT TO:

EXT- OUTSIDE OF FREDERICK’S HOUSE- EVENING

There is a taxi in the driveway and several suitcases. Carole is by the taxi and AMY, 8, is already in the taxi. Frederick runs out of his car and goes to Carole.

FREDERICK

What are you doing? Honey, come on let’s talk about this.

CAROLE

No, you have been ignoring me and disregarding me all day, and this is nothing new. I can’t deal with you anymore. I just… I can’t.

FREDERICK

But- But honey, I won the lottery, we’re millionaires!

Carole smiles and kisses his cheek.

CAROLE

Try to save your money. Take care.

Carole finishes packing her things and gets in the taxi. They drive away leaving Frederick alone in the driveway.

FADE OUT

Leave a Reply

