Get to Know Your Character

Image result for writing aesthetics

As I’m sure some can tell from my previous posts, character building is one of my favorite parts of writing. When creating a story, the characters are some of the main things that can help carry it. As an artist, I also love physically developing a character as well. Character designing is always great too. That love of characters is actually very beneficial, because getting to know your characters is a tremendous advantage to the story as a whole.

There’s quite a few ways that a writer can get to know their character and develop them through the story. For my protagonist and several of the other main characters, I made an in depth character description for them. I treat the characters almost as if I’m getting information on someone for a paper. This technique is often considered to be an interview. This gives you a chance to truly get to know the character that you’re developing.

This same technique can be used to ensure character development. When I get to different part of the novel, I like to “interview” my characters again. With the development of the story, it gave me a chance to get in tune with my character’s change in actions and perspective.

Characters are naturally such a central part of a story. And it’s honestly my favorite part!

 

Leave a Reply

