Let Love Fix it

Day #25: Write a sequence of letters/ e- mails between an angry son and his absentee father. The father has recently tried to re- enter his son’s life but the son is rebuffing his attempts at reconciliation. In the end, the mother intervenes.

To: Jason

Cc: Melanie

Subject: Hello and I’m Sorry

Hello, J.J. It’s been a while hasn’t it. I saw a video of you on FaceBook. You’re number 75, right? Son, I’m so proud of you. I know it’s been a long time, and I’m sorry for that. I have a lot that I want to talk to you about. I know that I owe you an explanation and so much more. I want to give that to you. I went ahead and tagged your mother. We should get lunch together sometime, maybe next Thursday. I hope we can meet. I’ve missed you so much, J.J. I love you.

– Your Dad, Frank

To: Frank

Cc: Melanie

Subject: Re: Hello and I’m Sorry

Hey dad. Yes, that’s me. Funny, I saw a photo of you on your own team. I guess football is all we’ve got in common. I’ll keep it short I don’t want to meet up. I’ve got senior duties so I’m busy. And no one calls me J.J.

To: Jason

Cc: Melanie

Subject: Re:Re: Hello and I’m Sorry

Hello, son. I’m sorry for replying so late. You have every right to be angry with me, and I’m so sorry. I understand your frustration, but please give me a chance. I miss you so much and I know I don’t deserve anything from you. I’m sure you have a lot on your plate, and I’m honestly so proud of you, J.J. I truly hope one day you can forgive because I would love to meet with you and to fix our situation.

I love you, son.

To: Frank

Cc: Melanie

Subject: Re:Re:Re: Hello and I’m Sorry

Dad I really don’t want to talk, not right now. I know you love me, and I love you too, just saying. And yeah, I’m angry, you ditched me and mom and never bothered to call or visit. Stop bothering me.

To: Jason

Cc: Frank

Subject: Love

Hello, honey. I’ve seen the messages between you two. I know, it’s been hard for you. You’ve done so well and we’re both so proud of you. Your father has been through a lot, many things that you are still too young to get involved in. But know, your father misses you so much. Lisa has talked to me about how sad you’ve been lately. It’s ok to be hurt, but you’ve got to talk about it. I’m having a family dinner in the next two weeks and I expect you (the both of you) to be present. I love you so much, Jason.

 

Wow, this was a different type of experience to write. I wanted to make the characters realistic and the e- mail dialogue relatable. Not sure ^^

Leave a Reply

