Helping my Teacher

Day #26: Write a 400 word stream- of- consciousness from the mind of an eighth grade boy. Set it in a common area in a school. The thoughts should begin as frivolous, and develop into something that moves him into some kind of action.

Alright, if I pack my bag while Mr. Stevens isn’t looking, I can beeline to the cafeteria! I’ll be first in line for on- ah crap, he’s looking right at me. Chill, chill. Oh, he’s asking a question. Please don’t ask me, please don’t ask me… ah, thank God. Man, I’m starving. What time is it? Seriously? Ugh, I have a whole hour till lunch?! This class is killing me. I was really excited about those onion rings too. Do I have enough money? I think so. Yeah, ok, at least I didn’t forget that. Ok, focus, focus. I still don’t get why we have to take an English class… it’s not like any of us don’t already know how to speak English.

Ah, it’s raining. I thought that it was pretty gray out there. It’s coming down pretty hard. I’m getting kinda sleepy looking at it. No, gotta stay awake, gotta stay focused. What time is it now? God, I’m so hungry! And tired. Oh crap, I should write that down. Hmmm… maybe I’m not the only one who’s looking pretty tired. Mr. Stevens looks like he’s going to fall over. Maybe he gets sleepy when it rains too. He’s got a lot of papers stacked on his desk.

Now that I think about it, he never seems to be in one spot. I mean, just before break he waited till band practice started to help me with my studying. It wasn’t just me. I think Sammy said that he helped her with a story. No wonder he’s so tired, he’s completely overworked. Are those papers… the fifth graders’ exams? He still hasn’t graded those? Not to mention we turn in our papers pretty soon. How’s he going to finish all of this alone? Mr. Stevens always helps me, no not just me, everybody whenever they need help. I don’t think I’ve seen anyone stop to help him though.

He’s been looking pretty tired… break only ended a few weeks ago, but he’s still been doing so much. Maybe I can help him. Yeah, I could totally help him out! I probably can’t help with my class, but I bet he’ll let me help with the other class. Is it lunch time already? Huh, I didn’t even notice the bell ring. Alright, that’s what I’ll do. Hopefully, he lets me help.

2 thoughts on “Helping my Teacher

  1. I love how much this stream-of-consciousness brings me back to elementary school! This makes me think of rainy days, when we had indoor recess and I’d spend the whole time in the library. I’m glad this post brought back those memories 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

