Deciding to Chose a Creative Lifestyle

I watched a video yesterday that really struck a cord with me. It was a video about the particular content creator’s top ten best anime characters. There was a character that he was describing that he identified with, and honestly, I identified with it as well. I link to his video for those interested. But to summarize there was a character that had a realization to chose what he loved (Tennis) over what he had convinced himself was more important (Getting straight A’s). This was something I’ve struggled with throughout school, even in Grad school. Granted, I really love school and learning for knowledge’s sake. I tend to lean more towards creativity.

So how does one chose the right option? This was something that I struggled with, more so in undergrad. I wasn’t sure if school would impede on a more creative lifestyle. This was heightened as I started to lose interest in what I had thought I wanted to study, which was to go into law school. I thought I’d have to give one up for the other.

I’m extremely thankful that I learned that I can have both. Creativity is something that is very fun, and has the capacity to be lucrative. I see things like the arts, literature and writing to be the a part of the creative lifestyle. I currently feel that I have a creative lifestyle. I pour a lot of my time into writing. Recently, I’ve also gotten back into drawing. However, I’m very active with my education as well. As stated before, I identified with the character in the video that had to chose which lifestyle they wanted to live.

For me, I chose both. I know that this sounds like a lot to handle. But honestly, even one of those things can be a lot depending on one’s out look. For me, the creative lifestyle doesn’t just mean that you only focus on the arts. It’s very possible to follow a creative lifestyle while that may not be your entire focus. For me personally, I’m in school to be a professor. But I still am active in writing my novel as well as just writing for fun. I also make it a habit to draw everyday. It’s really a matter of mindset. I don’t just see them as tasks or as a burden. They’re a part of my identify, as corny as that may sound. It can be the same for others. You can have goals that a different from your creative goals. Depending on the goals, they can even intertwine with one another. My love of writing is extremely helpful with my goal to be a professor.

That’s my take on the creative lifestyle. If anyone is reading, let me know what you think.  And here is the link to the video that I was referring to.

Leave a Reply

