Moving Too Fast

Sometimes, it feels like everything is moving way too fast; things dash ahead of us so fast that it feels like we don’t even have time to process it. Often, it’s a feeling that we can’t help since, as they say; “time waits for no one”. The constant movement affects us in many ways, but the way I will be focusing on is creatively. For me, it can feel like I’m breezing through a scene too quickly or rushing in the development of two characters. So how does one fix this problem? For me, it’s easier to break down what it is that I’m rushing and if that is truly a bad thing or not.

Rushing is Ok… At First

Something that I’ve had to learn the hard way, is that spending too much time on the beginning process can be a bit detrimental. It leaves a lot of room for second guessing which can lead to the feeling of wanting to give. At least, that’s the case for me. This problem applies to multiple creative mediums, but I’ve noticed it more when I write and when I draw. For writing, if I spend too much time on the outline or even the first draft, I develop an odd defeated perspective of my work. In art, if I spend too much time on the initial sketch, I tend to find an abundance of faults and have a hard time moving forward with the piece. For me, I’ve found more benefit when I “rush” through the beginning. That doesn’t mean that act carelessly in the beginning, however. I’ve learned that ensuring that I, at the very least, get the bare bones of whatever project or piece that I’m working on down, then I’m more likely to actually finish it and be happy with it.

Be Precise

Precision takes patience. When I’m being more patient with something, the rushing feeling I get tends to slow down. The aspect of precision varies based on what it is that you’re trying to slow down. An example that I gave was the feeling of rushing through a scene. Once you’ve gotten the bare bones of that scene down, what I like to do is to really pick what it is that will make the scene. If in the writing, I can’t see a full fluid scene in my head, then I write and add on to it until I see a full-fledged scene occurring in my head. This often take patience. This the same with character development and the development of their relationships. Be patient and understand that this development when more than likely take place through the entirety of the story. I believe that it’s the same with art. Once you’ve gotten the initial sketch, take time to add in the details that’ll bring the picture to life.

When things are moving too fast, sometimes it’s up to you to force things to go slower. Time isn’t something we can control, but how we use it and what we do with it is. I hope this is helpful to someone!

Leave a Reply

